The Picnic Project: Hummus

Picnic season has begun. Hayfever is rife, the sun is out and the masses have followed.

And you know what that means: bags of crisps, melting chocolate, sticky fingers. And hummus. Someone always brings hummus.

Obviously, I love hummus. I could eat one big tub of it and very little else. So I decided to make some.

Is there anything more appetising than a chick pea? Yes, there's hummus...

Ignoring my lovely chipped bowl, this is an encouraging sight! Chick peas are the most important part of hummus and therefore, right now, the most important part of me.

Slightly sad looking now, but about to become one of the best foods ever!

Tahini paste is not glamorous. It is bitter and gooey. But it is VITAL to hummus, vital.

I’ve got this family heirloom food processor that I definitely don’t use enough. It makes all the best things and requires little effort.

I juiced some lemons, too

So a whizzed up the chick peas, garlic, tahini, lemon juice and olive oil, added some salt and pepper and made a whole TUPPERWARE BOX of hummus. I am happy. Now I just need a picnic full of people to share it with. Once I’ve found one, I’ll let you know.

May 2, 2011. Food projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

