August and everything after

Little crown

So I had a go at taking part in Susannah Conway‘s August Break. It felt like a good way to get back into blogging and sharing ideas (and maybe some non-ideas, too).

I started off pretty well but quickly learned two things: I want better photos for The Jenny Project and I want to post things that are meaningful and not so random. Good things to learn!

Sadly, I got distracted halfway through by some sad news. One of my friends from school passed away and I was suddenly in the throes of grief. It’s not that I had nothing to say, I just didn’t know how to say anything about it at the time, and I wasn’t sure if it was the right thing to do.

I decided that I don’t want to write about the specifics here, but it would be exceptionally uncharacteristic of me not to mention it at all. So I’ll say this: I had forgotten how energy-sapping grief actually is, and how grief is all one thing: you start grieving for one person and you find yourself grieving for everything ever lost.

Somehow, it seemed appropriate to be in the middle of something organised by one of the best writers about grief I’ve ever encountered, and I’m sure fellow readers of Susannah‘s blog will agree.

PS I borrowed the little crown photo from here. I’m working on my own.

PPS ‘August and everything after’ is the first of Counting Crows’ albums and one of my most listened to.

September 14, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Jenny project.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

